The first step of any combat is this: the DM determines whether anyone in the combat is surprised (reread "Combat Step by Step" on page 189 of the Player’s Handbook). So when invisibility says "for the purpose of hiding, the creature is heavily obscured" I read that as synonymous with "an invisible creature can always try to hide." I really don't see any reason why this wouldn't be allowed, unless there is something in a Sage Advice or an FAQ that specifcally addresses this. Okay, makes sense. From a closer vantage, it's clear that the "hill" is a stone structure covered in moss and vegetation. (thanks @LeviRocks) It doesn't read that you cast a spell or in particular that you are using magic on yourself. The newest material is preceded by the tag “[NEW]”. NOT the creature, but the spell effect -- this matters for Dispel Magic, since you can target a 'magical effect within range'. #dungeoncraft dungeon concept for @Wizards_DnD: THE BURIAL MOUND.What appears to be a large, flat hill sits in the middle of a raging river, like a colossal beaver's dam. It sounds to me like a good use of spells to make oneself almost undetectable. This month I tackle a new batch of questions on a variety of D&D topics. Sage Advice : Combat. Sage Advice Compendium The Sage Advice Compendium collects questions and an-swers about the rules of Dungeons & Dragons (fifth edi-tion). No, here’s how surprise works. Sage Advice Acquisitions Incorporated Eberron: Rising from the Last War Explorer's Guide to Wildemount ... (Updated - 4/2 8) Q: If an Echo is immune to being invisible, does the invisibility spell not work on it? Sometimes it also provides reference documents to help your D&D game run more smoothly. In an early post on Sage Advice, I read Nondetection + Invisibility even protects against True Seeing. If invisibility drops only as the damaging part of the attack starts: You feel a sudden blow to your sword, swiping it aside, and then see a cloaked figure appear before you, stabbing towards your exposed chest with a shortsword. But what about the Divination Wizard's Third Eye ability? No wait hold up, I know it's a weird question. A stealth check below the PP of the enemy wizard means you are noticed. In the PDF, search for “[NEW]” to see the … I don't read it as meaning "automatically fails any ability check that requires sight", because an obscured-for-the-purpose-of-hiding creature is not area which blocks sight. Question: If you tried to Dispel Magic on this, could you "end the effect" by dispelling the effect of the invisibility or would you need to target the ring to disable the ring from being able to make you invisible? The moment you start casting a spell with concentration (Hypnotic Pattern) your previous concentration on invisibility is broken and you become visible (Sage Advice) and therefore could be counterspelled. The document’s version number changes when sub-stantive additions or revisions have been made to the text. Does surprise happen outside the initiative order as a special surprise round? The Sage Advice Compendium is the official D&D rules FAQ, gathering D&D rules questions and providing answers to them. A: The invisibility spell does not work on Echos, because Echos are not creatures, and a creature must be the target. Sage Advice is a monthly column that gives official clarifications of D&D rules. If you know the location of an invisible creature, can you see the invisibility? You stated the case pretty well: Invisibility is …